University Charter and Accreditation

Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) was established by Parliamentary Act No 6 on 1st July 1984. In 2005, the Universities Act No 7 repealed Act No 6 and paved way to the establishment of University Charters.

Since 2007, SUA has been operating under its Charter and Rules, 2007 which was signed by the then President of the United Republic of Tanzania H.E. Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete on 28/03/2007.

Sokoine University of Agriculture Charter - 2007 (PDF)

Legally, SUA is fully accredited by the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU). Through accreditation TCU provides quality assurance services, coordination and rationalization of training programmes, and promotes cooperation among universities in the country. 

Besides this legal framework, the University is also guided by a number of education and training policies that provide a coherent philosophy for the development and management of education in Tanzania.


Like & Share this page